FAITH & ACHIEVEMENT

The Southwest Chicago Christian Schools have a heritage of being a parent-run school that provides a Christ-centered education for students. For more than 100 years, our goal has remained the same - to provide an educational experience that is integrated with the Reformed understanding of the Christian faith. Moreover, we provide an education that challenges students to develop their gifts and talents so they can live a life of service to the honor and glory of God.

Parents who choose to send their children to SCCS believe in a Christ-centered education. That doesn't mean, however, that families must attend churches from the Reformed tradition. In fact, an increasing number of parents from other Christian churches are choosing SCCS for their children.

Today, SCCS serves nearly 1,000 students over three campuses

  • Oak Lawn, (Preschool-8th Grade)
  • Tinley Park (K-8th Grade)
  • Palos Heights (Chicago Christian High School 9-12th Grade).

Each school offers a broad educational program including core curricular subjects as well as Bible, art, music, computer, physical education as well as co-curricular activities. CCHS also offers classes in business and technology.

VISION STATEMENT

A Christ-centered learning community intent on restoring God’s world.

MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of SCCS is to provide a high quality education program in the Reformed tradition which emphasizes the lordship of Jesus Christ over all of life, preparing students spiritually, socially, academically, and physically to serve effectively and glorifying God by honoring Him in all aspects of life.

CORE VALUES

Southwest Chicago Christian Schools will be Christ-centered schools:

  1. Grounded on the Reformed tradition
  2. Providing academic and spiritual development for students
  3. Regionally-based for Christian families

PURPOSES

  • Pursuit of excellence – including personnel, facilities, program and educational standards, and governance
  • Comprehensive program – embracing academics, arts, and athletics
  • Christian community – emphasizing home, church, and school relationships while building on the broader church and family relationships
  • Student focused – intentional about the needs and abilities of students
  • Financially secure – providing for both near and longer term sustainability

BOARD

  • Nancy Bulthuis, Secretary
  • Clayton Carlson
  • Richard DeJong, President
  • Jennifer Harris, Vicar
  • John Hiskes, Vice President
  • Donna Lemmenes
  • Steve Loerop
  • Jeffrey Ozinga
  • Howard Rynberk III
  • Zachary Thomson
  • David Triezenberg
  • Chris VanTil, Treasurer
  • Frank Voss, Jr.
  • Jeffery Weidenaar

LEADERSHIP

Henry Doorn, Jr. - Superintendent

BS Accounting, Trinity Christian College

hdoorn@swchristian.org

Sue Tameling - Principal, High School Campus

BA K-12 Physical Education and 7-12 Social Sciences, Calvin College
MA Physical Education and Exercise Science, Michigan State University
M. Ed Educational Leadership, Covenant College

stameling@swchristian.org

Terry Huizenga - Principal, Tinley Park Campus

Huizenga, Terry

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Administration, Saint Xavier University

thuizenga@swchristian.org

Nate Pettinga - Principal, Oak Lawn Campus

Pettinga, Nate

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Education Leadership, Concordia University Chicago

npettinga@swchristian.org

Tim Schnyders - Marketing, Recruitment, and Alumni Relations

BA Business Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Educational Administration, Governor's State University
Certificate of Advanced Study in Technology, Saint Xavier University

tschnyders@swchristian.org

Beth Goodfellow - Business Manager

BS Accounting, Northern Illinois University

bgoodfellow@swchristian.org

FACULTY & HEAD ATHLETIC COACHES

Oak Lawn Campus

Altena, Heather

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

Bolhuis, Barb

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

Bruinius, Trudie

Librarian

tbruinius@swchristian.org

Associate of Applied Science-Executive Assistant

Robin Cloman

Teacher Aide

rcloman@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Aurora University
M. Ed Early Childhood Leadership, National Louis University

DeBoer, Suzanne

sdeboer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

DeJong, Cheryl

Music

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

Goudzwaard, Ruth

3rd Grade

rgoudzwaard@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

Hillegonds, Dale

Middle School Social Studies & Science

dhillegonds@swchristian.org

BA Social Studies & Science, Trinity Christian College

Hofman, Beverly

Preschool

bhofman@swchristian.org

BA Early Childhood Education with Special Education, National Louis University

Isenmann, Marie

 

Teacher Aide

misenmann@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Iwema, Sharon

siwema@swchristian.org

Jousma, Kristine

4th Grade

kjousma@swchristian.org

BA, University of Illinois
MA, Concordia University

Klein, Linda

lklein@swchristian.org

Kowallis, Tod

tkowallis@swchristian.org

BS Music, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
MS Music Indiana University (Bloomington IN)

Kruzich, Kristin

Middle School Math, Language Arts, & Bible

kkruzich@swchristian.org

BA Math & Secondary Education, Calvin College
MA Teaching & Leadership, Saint Xavier University

Mudde, Sandy

smudde@swchristian.org

Nichols, Darcy

 

Physical Education

dnichols@swchristian.org

BA Physical Education, Trinity Christian College

Schaafsma, Becky

5th Grade

bschaafsma@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Schuurmann, Cathi

School Counselor

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Education & English, Calvin College
MA Education, University of Redlands

Tiemens, Terri

 

Teacher Aide

ttiemens@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Tkoletz, Nancy

Middle School Language Arts, Math, & Bible

ntkoletz@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education & History, Monmouth College

Triemstra, Faith

ftriemstra@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

van den Brink, Jayne

1st Grade

jvandenbrink@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

Voss, Kelly

  

2nd Grade

kvoss@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education & Spanish, Trinity Christian College

Winthrop, Laura

Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University

Tinley Park Campus

Bolhuis, Barb

 

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

Brouwer, Sue

Academic Support

sbrouwer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College
MA Special Education, Saint Xavier University

Buteyn, Randall

5th Grade

rbuteyn@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Education, Chicago State University

Culver, Linda

Kindergarten

lculver@swchristian.org

BA, Special Education, Calvin College

DeJong, Cheryl

Music

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

DeVries, Lora

Middle School English & Bible

ldevries@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College
MA Curriculum & Instruction, Purdue University

Sue Elifson

Academic Support

selifson@swchristian.org

BA, Westmont College
MA, Saint Xavier University

Fratto, Angie

Spanish

afratto@swchristian.org

Finance & Hospitality Revenue Management, Cornell University

Gabrielse, Tony

Technology

agabrielse@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Gier, Bonnie

bgier@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Hackel, Kristin

Aiding 1st Grade

khackel@swchristian.org

BS Elementary Education and Special Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Education, Olivet Nazarene University

Hengst, Mindi

Middle School Science, Social Studies, & Bible

mhengst@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Mathematics Education, University of London

Holwerda, Marcy

2nd Grade

mholwerda@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Dordt College

Kickert, Beth

2nd Grade

bkickert@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Reading, Writing, & Literacy, University of Illinois

Kowallis, Tod

tkowallis@swchristian.org

BS Music, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
MS Music Indiana University (Bloomington IN)

Lindemulder, Deb

4th Grade

dlindemulder@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Opie, Kristine

kopie@swchristian.org

BA English & Secondary Education, Calvin College
MA English, Governors State University

Otto, Mike

Middle School Math & Science

motto@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Northwestern College, Iowa
MA Administration, Northwestern College, Iowa

Reppmann, Karen

Half Day Kindergarten
K-8 Media Specialist

kreppmann@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Schuurmann, Cathi

 

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education, Calvin College MA School Counseling, University of Redlands

VanStedum, Laura

1st Grade

lvanstedum@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Verver, Ryan

Middle School Math, Science, & Bible

rverver@swchristian.org

BA Science Education, Dordt College
MA Educational Administration, Governors State University

Voss, Carole

cvoss@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Winthrop, Laura

Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University

Zoeterman, George

Middle School Language Arts & Social Studies

gzoeterman@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education & History, Trinity Christian College

Zoeterman, Jane

3rd Grade

jzoeterman@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Chicago Christian High School

Altena, Christian

History

caltena@swchristian.org

BA History, Simon Fraser University

Altena, Heather

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

Brauer, Eric

Athletic Director

ebrauer@swchristian.org

BA Business/Finance, Valparaiso University
MA Athletic Administration, Valparaiso University
Physical Education, American College of Education

Christiansen, Jake

 Christiansen, Jake

Math

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

BA Math Education, Calvin College

Cook, Nick

PE/Health

ncook@swchristian.org

BA Exercise Science & Psychology, University of Mount Union

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

Domanik, Tony

Bible

tdomanik@swchristian.org

BA Biblical Languages M. Div., Geneva College

Doorn, Karen

Math

kdoorn@swchristian.org

BS Education, Dordt College

Doot, Cory

Science

cdoot@swchristian.org

BA Integrated Science, Calvin College

Drury, Mike

History

mdrury@swchristian.org

BA History & Secondary Education, Calvin College

Dykstra, Lisa

Math

ldykstra@swchristian.org

BA Math & Religion, Calvin College

Haan, Cathy

English & Bible

chaan@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College
M Ed. Curriculum & Instruction, National Louis University

Hills, William

Spanish

whills@swchristian.org

BA Spanish, History & Bible, Asbury College
MA Divinity, Canadian Theological Seminary

Iannarone, Shirley

Academic Support

siannarone@swchristian.org

BA Psychology, Hope College
MA Special Education, University of Connecticut

Jann, Nathan

Technology Coordinator

njann@swchristian.org

Kamp, Laura

Science

lkamp@swchristian.org

BS Chemistry & French, Illinois State University
MA Education, Saint Xavier University

Kowallis, Tod

tkowallis@swchristian.org

BS Music, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
MS Music, Indiana University (Bloomington IN)

Kreykes, Ken

Business

kkreykes@swchristian.org

BA Business Administration, Dordt College

Kuipers, Jim

Chemistry

jkuipers@swchristian.org

BA Physical Science, Trinity Christian College
MS Environmental Biology, Governors State University
Ph.D Environmental Science, Stanford University

Lenters, Cristin

Social Worker & Guidance Counselor

clenters@swchristian.org

BSW, Calvin College
MSW, University of Illinois at Chicago

Medema, Mary

Art

mmedema@swchristian.org

BA Art Education, Calvin College

Okuley, Neil

nokuley@swchristian.org

BA History/Social Science, Wheaton College

Pittman, Kevin

kpittman@swchristian.org

BA Sociology/Criminal Justice, Trinity Christian College  

Potter, Linda

Business Tech

lpotter@swchristian.org

BA Business Education, Northwestern College Iowa
MA Business Education, Northern Illinois University

Rager, Jessica

Math

jrager@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Schnyders, Lisa

English

lschnyders@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College

Siemer, Phil

psiemer@swchristian.org

BA English & German, Calvin College

Snape, Gretchen

Academic & College Counselor

gsnape@swchristian.org

BA English, Valparaiso University
MA School Counseling, Lewis University

VanderWoude, Deb

English & Bible

dvanderwoude@swchristian.org

BA French, Calvin College
MA French Language & Culture, New York University

Vilendrer, Kimberly

Science

kvilendrer@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education & Biology, Saint Louis University
MA, Miami University of Ohio

Head Athletic Coaches

Andrew, Andy

ejandrewjr@andrewfamily.org

Bowling (Mens)
Bowling (Womens)

Brauer, Eric

ebrauer@swchristian.org

Athletic Director
Baseball (Mens)

Christiansen, Jake

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

Cross Country (Womens)

Cook, Nick

ncook@swchristian.org

Football (Mens)

Deckinga, Brian

bdeckinga22@gmail.com

Athletic Department Intern
Golf (Mens)

Gust, Chrissy

cgust123@gmail.com

Volleyball (Womens)

Johnson, Brian

bljohn22@comcast.net

Tennis (Womens)

Kirchhoff, Kelly

krkirchhoff@gmail.com

Soccer (Mens)
Soccer (Womens)

Kloese, Casey

caseyjkloese@gmail.com

Competitive Cheerleading

Kwasteniet, Jim

jkwasteniet@swchristian.org

Track (Womens)

Pittman, Kevin

kpittman@swchristian.org

Basketball (Mens)
Softball (Womens)